Groovey TV

Denver’s Independent Comic Expo Announces Guests

Comics, illustrators, and artists of all stripes will join together this spring for the inaugural DINK Independent Comic Expo set to take place in the gorgeous Mile High City from March 25-26. A boutique expo with a focus on independent comics and art influencers, the event promises to deliver top notch mercantile and visual arts of many kinds.

With over 150 featured artists, guests, exhibitors, and independent vendors expected in Denver over the two-day event, organizers have kicked off the new year with an exciting roster of national talent including New York Times best-selling graphic novelist Nate Powell, Eisner Award winner Jim Rugg, critically acclaimed cartoonist and writer Julia Wertz along independent favorites Alex Robinson, Joshua W. Cotter and Mike Dawson in their first wave announcements. An impressive start for a first-year boutique event, more guest announcements are expected soon. Tickets for the DINK will range from $20 for a weekend pass to less than $15 for a single day ticket and will go on sale at noon on Monday, January 11th.

DINK is being produced by Nerd Riot Production’s Charlie La Greca (co-founder of Denver Comic Con) along with an experienced and award-winning team (which includes fellow Denver Comic Con co-founder Frank Romero) whose collective experience spans conventions, event production, comics, books, art, music, podcasts, theater, film, and publishing. The aim of the DINK is to provide a platform for underground and internationally renowned independent artists to present their works without the fanfare of celebrity guests. The event will feature opportunities for all ages along with top-notch adult programming with the inclusion of a bar & lounge — an area for casual mixing among patrons and artists alike.

The DINKy’s

As a celebration of independent comics, DINK will feature Colorado’s first graphic novel, sequential art, and comic awards called “The DINKy’s” and be coordinated by Tinto Press boutique publisher and DINK Special Projects Director, Ted Intorcio.  Committed to recognizing outstanding independent comics and art from a diverse group of submissions, award categories will feature such topics as “Best Work – Large/Mid Press, a “Diversity Award,” “Individual Achievement Awards,” and “Best in Show.

“Coordinating the first ever Colorado-based comics awards is exciting and I understand how meaningful it can be to give deserved recognition to the community. We are committed to curating a list of nominees that can be promoted and create a sense of encouragement and support among within the industry as well as all independent cartoonists, creators, publishers and artists alike.” says Intorcio.

DINKy nominees and award winners will be evaluated by an impartial panel of judges that focus solely on the work itself and not on the marketing materials associated. In so doing, DINK is committed to curating a list of nominees to be promoted to followers of DINK to create an encouraging community among all independent cartoonists.

Artists who wish to submit their work for “The DINKY’s” will be able to register at the official DINK Website on Monday, Jan 18th beginning at 10 AM. The Awards Ceremony is set to take place on Saturday, March 26 at 8 PM in the Sherman Street Event Center Theater.

A fun, first-class expo emphasizing the independent spirit, cultural relevance, imagination, and community of comics, graphic novels, zines, art, publishers,and fans; DINK will kick off this March at the Sherman Street Events Center featuring internationally renowned creators from the around the globe. Tickets will go on sale on Monday, January 11th at


About the Artists

Best known for March, the autobiography of Congressman and civil rights icon John Lewis, Nate Powell is a New York Times best-selling graphic novelist and the recipient of multiple notable awards such as the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, the Eisner Award, and the Ignatz Awards.

Eisner Award winner Jim Rugg is an American cartoonist and illustrator from Pittsburgh known for his tongue-in-cheek evocations of 1970’s era comics and pop culture, as well as for his graphic novels and comic collections.

Julia Wertz is a critically acclaimed cartoonist and writer of The Fart Party Vols. 1 and 2 (Atomic Books, 2007 and 2009), Drinking at the Movies, with a new edition from Koyama Press with an intro by Janeane Garofalo. Wertz’s work has graced the pages of New Yorker Harper’s Magazine, Time Out New York, and currently does a monthly comic installment about NYC history for the New Yorker.

Alex Robinson is the award-winning author of Box Office Poison, Tricked, Too Cool to Be Forgotten, and a new release from Top Shelf Productions called Our Expanding Universe.

Josh Cotter garnered international acclaim in 2008 with his original graphic novel Skyscrapers Of The Midwest, released by AdHouse Books. Comics fans and critics calling out to Cotter for new work for the last seven years will be thrilled to hear of his new sci-fi epic Nod Away, to be released spring 2016.

Cartoonist and author Mike Dawson is responsible for Freddie & Me: A Coming-of-Age (Bohemian) Rhapsody, a memoir of a childhood obsession with Queen and Troop 142, a sordid tale of a New Jersey Boy Scout troop away on a weeklong Summer camping trip. Entertainment Weekly called Freddie & Me “undeniably contagious,” while the UK Daily Telegraph said it was, “Charming, sincere and, above all, expressively drawn.”

Nate Powell
Jim Rugg
Julia Wertz
Alex Robinson
Joshua W. Cotter
Mike Dawson

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

I sit next to people with famousosity and try to make them laugh.

Leave A Response