Groovey TV

OSI: New Song Streaming on Decibel Magazine’s “Deciblog”


“Fire Make Thunder”  Available March 27th  via Metal Blade Records

Fire Make Thunder  marks the fourth undertaking for the collaborative duo known as  OSI. Formed in 2002 by Jim Matheos (Fates Warning, Arch/Matheos) and Kevin Moore (Chroma Key, former Dream Theater keyboardist),  OSI  is a long distance partnership, both musicians typically writing and recording alone and sending song ideas back and forth for further elaboration. Written and recorded throughout most of 2011, this latest release once again reflects the eclectic influences of both Matheos and Moore.


Fire Make Thunder  is slated for a March 27th  release via Metal Blade Records. Today Decibel Magazine’s “Deciblog” is hosting an exclusive premiere of a track from  Fire Make Thunder. Get a first listen to the first track on the album “Cold Call”  HERE.


An exclusive video interview featuring Chairman and CEO of Metal Blade Brian Slagel talking to the often elusive duo of Kevin Moore and Jim Matheos is available for viewing courtesy od  HERE. In the interview OSI and Slagel discuss the recording process of the new album, the origins of  OSI  and much more.


OSI  has released an exclusive audio medley from  Fire Make Thunder, which features audio samples from the upcoming release. The medley as well as pre-order opportunities can be accessed  HERE.


Returning as the band’s session drummer is Gavin Harrison of Porcupine Tree, this time co-writing one of the tracks with the band. All other instruments and programming were performed by both Matheos and Moore, while vocals and lyrics were handled exclusively by Moore.


All of the recording for  Fire Make Thunder, with the exception of drums, was done by Moore and Matheos at each musician’s respective home studio with drums being recorded at Harrison’s home in London. Final overdubs as well as some additional writing/arranging was completed in July 2011 in Jamaica, Iowa, where the band mixed alongside engineer Matt Sepanic at Sound Farm Studio and Recording Environment. Mastering was handled by renowned engineer Roger Siebel. The record was produced by both Moore and Matheos.



1) Cold Call
2) Guards
3) Indian Curse
4) Enemy Prayer
5) Wind Won’t Howl
6) Big Chief II
7) For Nothing
8) Invisible Men


For More Information Please Visit:  (Official Site)  (Pre-Order Page)  (Twitter)  (Facebook)  (YouTube)  (Google Plus)  (MySpace)

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

I sit next to people with famousosity and try to make them laugh.

Leave A Response