Groovey TV

Ten Cents Short Album Review

Ten Cents Short have only been a band for around three years, and already they have worked with some of the biggest names in the pop-punk scene, and their latest album will make you see why. Titled Major Steps, Minor Setbacks, the album was produced and co-written by Alan Day of Four Year Strong and features five powerhouse songs of pop-punk magic.

The band recently released an official music video for ‘Higher Powers’, a tongue-in-cheek nod to the music industry’s ridiculous perceptions of band personas. The drums propel the beat as the guitars drive the song. The lyrics pertain to persevering and rising above your problems, a feeling we can all relate to. Which is the best part of this band, their lyrics are something that every single person can connect to on some level.

A lyric video for ‘Beggars’ helps showcase the lyrical prowess of the songwriter, an emotional outpour with an in your face approach that this genre is known for. This song can easily be a fan favorite at shows since it has that strong sing-a-long feel and a breakdown to get the pit going.

Ten Cents Short falls in line with the new age of pop-punk bands that have popped up over the last few years. Using the poppier riffs made popular by the early 2000s pop-punk bands and adding a little more of a hardcore influence with heavy breakdowns and more intense vocals, this isn’t the pop punk you remember from ‘back in the day’. From start to finish, Major Steps, Minor Setbacks keeps your adrenaline pumping. Whether you’re a new or old fan to the genre, this album should immediately be added to your music library!

Major Steps Minor Setbacks

Purchase Major Steps, Minor Setbacks

1. Draw The Line

2. Higher Powers

3. Beggars

4. Setback

5. Make It 

Connect with Ten Cents Short

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Leave A Response